top of page

Blog

Review for Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke!


Quick View Review:

Overall Rating: ** (2/5)

Amazon Rating: *** (3.7/5)

One Sentence Review: A confusing tale I never quite understood, I thought that although Tucholke’s writing was truly admirable, the twists present in the plot were relatively predictable and I only really liked a few of the characters.

Pairing: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Full Review

(Summary from Amazon)

Every story needs a hero.

Every story needs a villain.

Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy.

What really happened?

Someone knows.

Someone is lying.

So I thought this book was just overall really disappointing. I picked it up mostly because of the gorgeous cover and the intriguing blurb that already possessed mystery and suspense, but because I had heard mixed reviews for it, I didn’t really know what to expect. Unfortunately, my view on this one is almost identical to what I thought of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, meaning not entirely favorable.

I really wanted to like this book, and I hope that if you are really passionate about it, you understand that we have different views and that’s just the way it is. I don’t mean to slam this story because it truly did have positive things going for it, but I can’t like every book, and if I didn’t ever post any negative reviews, how could I be even remotely trustworthy as a reviewer?

First, the characters. I couldn’t really relate to any of them, nor did I absolutely love any of them. I thought Wink was cute at the beginning, and more or less liked Midnight throughout, but other than that, I was missing the true connection I feel with characters from some of my favorite books. What I did like about these characters, though, was the transformation each and every one went through over the course of the book. You all know how much I LOVE witnessing character development in novels, and this story definitely emphasized the various characters’ shifts in such wonderful ways.

Next, the plot. I don’t know if this was because I read the book so quickly, but I just thought it was confusing from beginning to end. None of the plot twists made the whole “revelation” of the mystery click for me, and the explanation at the end only puzzled me further. Plus, I thought the whole general concept of “villain, hero, and liar” ended up being predictable and only further added to the confusion this book brought; because the concept seemed rather clear-cut and simple, that’s what I was hoping for in the end, but I was instead left with a complex web I didn’t even come close to comprehending.

All the positive aspects of this book, in my opinion, circle back to Tucholke’s writing. This author knows how to capture your attention and draw you into her story, even if the plot isn’t magnificent. She’s one of those authors I personally believe has enormous potential; her writing style is so beautiful that all she needs now is a plot to correspond.

Overall, I just wouldn’t recommend this book unless you’re looking for something quick and suspenseful. But I’m warning you, you won’t get the satisfaction of fully understanding the events of the story once you reach the ending; you’ll be left with the sense of mystery and confusion even after finishing the last page. At least, that was what happened in my case. However, similar to The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, the writing was what made this book even slightly worth picking up.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Xoxo,

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page