top of page

Blog

Review for Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi!


Quick View Review

Overall Rating: **** (4.5/5)

Amazon Rating: **** (4.3/5)

One Sentence Review: Read if you love dystopian, action packed page turners oozing with steamy, intense romance that inspires everyone to IGNITE that fire inside you.

Full Review

“You can't touch me," I whisper. I'm lying, is what I don't tell him. He can touch me, is what I'll never tell him. But things happen when people touch me. Strange things. Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she's finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she'd lost forever. (Summary by Amazon).

I'm a sucker for dystopian, action/romance-packed page turners, and if you are too, this series is for you. Tahereh Mafi does an enchanting job with her prose and rhythm, skillfully reeling you into Juliette’s chaotic adventure. Each character has some sort of growth by the end of the series, and seeing their transformations is inspiring and uplifting. It's all about harnessing the power you have within, and using it to change the world. Every character is so unique, their personality developed and complex in such a beautiful way, and when Mafi wants you to like a character, you fall in love (don't underestimate, because when you fall in love with one her characters, you fall hard and fast). The plot was full of ups and downs, and unexpected twists and turns that leave you on edge and wanting more. Don't be deterred if you prefer romance novels—trust me, this series is, as Kami Garcia truthfully said, “dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense”. It's the whole package! I finished it in three days, while on vacation in New York. I just couldn't put it down. So please, read it, there is something in it for everyone from gun-action addicts to dystopian cravers to romance lovers.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy reading!

Xoxo,

Zoe

Note from Jordan: I know we’ve all grown tired of the classic dystopian YA story, but TRUST. ME. This series has become my favorite of all time, and I can’t emphasize enough how much you should read it: the cast of characters was unbelievably incredible, the plot was endlessly suspenseful, and the writing was gloriously beautiful.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page