top of page

Blog

Review for Life of Pi by Yann Martel!


Quick View Review:

Characters:***** (5/5)

Plot: ***** (5/5)

Writing Quality: ***** (5/5)

Amazon Rating: **** (4.3/5)

Full Review:

Piscine Motor Patel is a skinny, quiet, vegetarian, Hindu, Catholic, Muslim Indian. He lives in a zoo with his father, who is the founder, owner, and director of The Pondicherry Zoo, his mother, and his older brother Ravi. When the family decides to drop everything and move to Canada, Piscine finds himself in the middle of the Pacific ocean on a lifeboat after their cargo ship sinks, taking his family with it. But he is not the only survivor. Stuck along with him on the small lifeboat are a hyena, a wounded zebra, an orangutan, and a 450-pound Royal Bengal Tiger. Read this mystifying and thrilling novel, Life of Pi, written by Yann Martel to find out how he survives this heart-breaking journey.

Before I wrote this review, I had already read this novel, but that was ages ago, so my memory of it was bleak. The only thought I could recollect was that it was surprisingly amazing, since at the time I had only explored mostly cliche, teenage love stories (and when I had realized I loved them, I never cared to look in other categories). I had seen the movie shortly after I read it, but that was also a hazy memory. The reason I read it again was because it was assigned for school, but I was still excited to read it (extreme book-nerd alert). After I finished it, I was so happy I reread it. The novel is a masterpiece. The characters were well developed. Yann Martel’s writing was flawless. The plot flowed nicely, creating tension and mystery peppered with light-hearted chapters to relieve the heavy story line. There were a few scenes that were very gruesome, but, nonetheless, everything was stunningly put together and truly moving. Having said that, this is a review to help people who are considering to read this novel to find out if they should, not a diary, so I will be honest here.

If you crave tons of romance in every book you read, Life of Pi isn’t for you. I love romance, but I also enjoy novels about a journey, books that are action-packed, full of tension, and a complete miracle (something I found out after Life of Pi, ironically). Life of Pi fits those categories so naturally, this novel is now listed in my favorite books list on my bulletin board. But if you don’t have the patience to read a book with sophisticated grammar and writing, a story-telling aura, or a simple coming-of-age type storyline, then this book will come off as a boring, a bit gross, on-going, and improbable adventure that is practically useless for the human race to read, let alone a romance lover like yourself. But if you find yourself, after reading my review, still considering giving Life of Pi a shot, then I definitely suggest for you go for it.

Overall, I connected with the characters. I cried and laughed, gaped in awe, and simply marveled at this gorgeous story before me. I am currently reading Lord of the Flies, and I find it very similar, filled with action yet still exploring the depths of nature. I recommend Life of Pi to all ages over twelve, but I encourage everyone to read it. You will be amazed. And as the story goes, if you look closely, it may even make you believe in God (wink, wink. Totally not suggesting you to move religions or anything).

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy Reading!

XOXO,

Zoe

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page