top of page

Blog

Review for Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard!


Quick View Review:

Characters: ***** (5/5)

Plot: ***** (5/5)

Writing Quality: **** (4.5/5)

Amazon Rating: **** (4.5/5)

Full Review:

The world that Mare Barrow lives in is separated by the color of your blood - those with common Red blood serve and work for the Silver-blooded nobles, who each have a superhuman power. Mare is a Red, and she gets by as a thief, stealing from other Reds living in her poor village in the country. But Mare’s life changes drastically when a twist of fate lands her in front of the Silver royals. In front of the most powerful families of the kingdom, Mare discovers that she has an ability of her own.

To cover up the impossible, the king forces Mare to “become” a lost Silver princess who is now engaged to one of his sons, a prince. As Mare becomes more involved in the world of Silvers, she risks her life and uses her new place of power to help the Scarlet Guard (a rising Red rebellion) with an unlikely ally. But Mare’s heart isn’t agreeing with her mind and is pulling her in an unthinkable direction. If Mare slips even a little, it would mean her death, but in this precarious game, the only certainty is betrayal.

Okay, I admit it. I didn’t expect this book to be unique. I thought it was going to be a classic romance: prince magically falls in love with lowly girl from the countryside (I mean, isn’t that EVERY single Disney princess story?), but this book absolutely defied my expectations. Yes, it did have some cliché elements, but what I loved was that it went beyond the cliché and became something more. Aveyard added twists and turns to the straight route that is our beloved Disney fairy tales,, and found the perfect balance between cheesy love at first sight and emotionless love - a balance I like to think of as realistic.

So, being the crazy book fanatic I am, I just have to say (because I simply CANNOT get this out of my head) that Mare and America (from the Selection series) could LITERALLY be personality twins (at least in my opinion). I mean, seriously. If you liked America in the Selection, then you will definitely like Mare. Both were in semi-similar situations (being unexpectedly introduced to the royal court when they were commoners/low on the social ladder), neither of their hearts can make up their minds, and both want to help people going through the hardships they faced in their lives before the palace. They were so similar that I thought if Mare became America and America became Mare, neither book would have changed.

Well, outside of Mare’s extreme resemblance to America, I felt that she was relatable and was developed to her full potential. I definitely could relate to how she was feeling, and, like Tessa from the Infernal Devices, it was completely understandable why her heart was torn. I mean, I was in love with both Cal and Maven, and if they both fell for me, well then it would be impossible for me to choose. Until my decision became obvious, that is. ;);)

I also thought that each character had a personality that fit perfectly in the story; in other words, I thought that each character’s thoughts and decisions affected the story in a different way, and that each decision had an important impact on the plot.

The plot… oh, the plot. As creative and imaginative as someone can get while still having realistic characters, it was simply amazing. There just isn’t another way to describe it. Aveyard created a perfect balance of supernatural incidents and events that could actually take place today. I loved it (obviously), and, along with all the other incredible things this book has to offer, Aveyard managed to include suspense, and had me racing to get to the last page.

Overall, this book was fascinating, and it definitely was not just a normal supernatural romance book (like I thought it would). The characters and plot were perfect, and to top it off, Victoria Aveyard’s writing was simply stunning. I would definitely recommend this book to girls (as it is told from Mare’s point of view), but boys might enjoy it if they are looking for a suspenseful novel that doesn’t include a lot of action. Just don’t read it if you’re looking for something cheesy and cliché.

My last warning: Anyone can betray anyone.

I ABSOLUTELY CAN’T WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!!! AHHHH! (major fangirl alert!)

Happy reading!

XOXO,

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page