top of page

Blog

Review for Omega by Lizzy Ford!


Quick View Review

Characters: **** (5/5)

Plot: ***** (5/5)

Writing Quality: *** (3.5/5)

Amazon Rating: ***** (5/5)

Full Review

In this futuristic society, the world is one giant battlefield ruled by the ancient Greek gods. There seems to be no hope for the oppressed populations, and those with power have no intentions of ever relinquishing it or making any move to change the system.

Except.

Alessandra has unknowingly been in hiding her entire life, protected by barriers, priests, and her own personal mentor, the one and only Herakles. When one day she decides to bend the rules a little and step outside the boundaries of her home for just a small amount of time, her life quickly takes an unexpected turn. In a matter of days, she becomes a fugitive, running away from pretty much everybody, she’s separated from her mentor, the one person she can truly trust, and her memories before living with the priests start to return, turning her life upside down and causing her to question things she knew to be true.

But why? Why would the Triumvirate, the leaders of the human elite, be after just one teenage girl? Why is Alessandra the only one who could maybe save the world and return the gods to their places? Find out in this exciting, action-packed novel by Lizzy Ford!

I didn’t really know what to expect from this book. It was definitely different from anything else I’ve ever read, and I really loved and appreciated Ford’s creativity. I personally think it’s really difficult to create a society from scratch because the author would have a lot of explaining to do to truly get his or her vision across. Fortunately, in this book, Lizzy Ford explained everything in perfect detail and I wasn’t left with any questions whatsoever regarding how Alessandra’s world worked.

I thought the characters were amazing. My personal favorites had to be Alessandra and Adonis. I loved how Alessandra was powerful and independent, something that can sometimes be hard to find. She wasn’t going to bend to anybody’s will, and she didn’t need anyone else to do the dirty work for her. And Adonis, I mean, what’s not to love? He was the perfect balance of villainous and benevolent, good and evil, and I was seriously fangirling every time he swooped in with those incredible wings.

The plot was, of course, perfection. A beautifully creative idea that was unique and unlike anything else you’ll ever see, I fell in love with it as soon as I read the back cover. Unlike Eleanor and Park, it was quite complex and detailed, but this book absolutely needed the details.

The only aspect of this book that was lacking slightly was the writing quality. For the majority of the book, Ford’s writing was incredible and powerful; however, there were some times when it was lacking a bit of sophistication and rich vocabulary. Casual words were placed among the more elegant ones, and I was sometimes confused and left wondering why Ford didn’t use a word that would have better fit the circumstance.

Despite a small flaw, this book was a true page turner, and resulted in me procrastinating on my homework just so that I could finish it in one day. Of course, this then resulted in me becoming upset at myself when I realized that it would be a while before I would get to read the sequel, but it was honestly worth it. This book had incredible characters and a tremendously creative and unique plot that will leave you reading nonstop until you read the last page. I recommend it to fans of Greek mythology, as you will be able to truly appreciate the amazing storyline Ford has created.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy reading!

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page