top of page

Blog

Review for Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo!


Quick View Review

Characters: ***** (5/5)

Plot: ***** (5/5)

Writing Quality: ***** (5/5)

Amazon Rating: ***** (5/5)

Full Review

Kaz “Dirtyhands” Brekker is the most feared and dangerous thief in Ketterdam, an international trade center. He’s the head lieutenant of the Dregs, a powerful gang in Ketterdam who have control over certain areas of the commercial district. Kaz is obsessed with making wagers and profit, and can never walk away from any task if he’s payed the right amount.

Unfortunately, as you can guess, this inability to resist offers often causes Kaz to put himself in serious danger. But never has he so precariously risked his life along with the lives of his most trusted warriors until he is given the opportunity to attempt the craziest and most dangerous heist ever. Considered impossible by everyone, it’s the perfect task for Kaz and his crew, but will they be able to live up to their legendary reputation and come out successful?

Wow, I have no words. This novel was one of those that sucks you in, that just pulls you into the depths of the story and holds you captive until you read the last page. You get so engrossed in the pages that you forget where you are and who you are, but instead imagine yourself living the story with the characters. Every emotion they feel, you feel, and every time suspense comes knocking, your heart is uncontrollably racing. It’s one of those rare novels that you can’t let go of and that you know you’ll remember for a long, long time. It’s one that I’m angry I have to wait for the sequel because I just want to dive right back in ;).

The characters were all outstanding. Each unique, multi-sided, complex, and completely lovable, I absolutely adored getting everyone’s perspective. I was wondering why Bardugo decided to leave out Wylan’s perspective, but I also didn’t feel it made the book any less jaw-droppingly wow.

I couldn’t choose a favorite character. I tried, many times, but they’re all so perfect. Thinking about them all: Kaz, Inej, Jesper, Wylan, Nina, and Matthias, it’s simply impossible to choose one better than the others. They were all as equally flawless.

The plot, oh my god. So creative and beautifully put together, I fell in love with every aspect of it. How Bardugo thought of this incredible world and where she got her inspiration from is beyond me and I give her a standing ovation for her genius ideas. There wasn’t a single plot twist that didn’t completely shock me, not a single event I was disappointed by. Everything about the plot was amazingly complex and utterly beyond what a story should be able to accomplish.

I also LOVED LOVED LOVED the touches of romance Bardugo added. I absolutely can’t wait to see the relationships between the three couples develop in the sequel, because they just HAVE to go further (now that would be disappointing… They’re all SO obviously in love with one another there’s no way it could just stop).

Bardugo’s writing did not disappoint. Not only was the plot flawless, but her execution of these ideas was impeccable. The novel was descriptive when it needed to be and suspenseful at just the right moments. Bardugo is one of those rare authors that has the ability to just captivate you with her superb writing talent. I really need to finish the Grisha trilogy (yup, I’m ashamed to admit I have yet to read the second and third books… Whoops).

Overall, what else can I say? A perfect page-turner with just the right amount of suspense at the end to not make you scream in frustration but enough to make you be dying for the sequel, this novel will end up on your favorites shelf without a doubt. I recommend this book to all teens, as both girls’ and boys’ perspectives are included and executed in a completely realistic manner.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy reading!

Xoxo,

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page