top of page

Blog

Review for Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas!


Quick View Review

Overall Rating: ***** (5/5)

Amazon Rating: **** (4.4/5)

One Sentence Review: An anthology of complex plots all tied up in one, this series will play with your emotions and encapture you in the best way possible.

Full Review

Celaena Sardothien. Adarlan's Assassin. These are words that have brought fear to Rifthold's citizens for years. Until Celaena got shipped to the slave camp Endovier, she was a ruthless assassin that worked for a mysterious and fierce master, Arobynn Hamel.

This terrifying assassin may soon be back on the streets, however. After a horrific year of being a slave, Celaena is summoned by the tyrannical king of Adarlan to represent his son in a competition that would place her as the king's personal assassin.

Unfortunately, 23 other killers and criminals stand in the way of Celaena and that "freeing" contract. Oh, and not to mention that dark thing that's been murdering the other Champions. As Celaena develops relationships with both the Crown Prince and the Captain of the Guard, she must defeat the evil in the castle along with her ruthless competitors.

*sigh* Will the magnificent series’ ever end?

Although this series was painstakingly slow and lacking in excitement during the first book, the action SERIOUSLY picked up in the next three books. And it gets very, very, mind-blowingly intense.

Although Celaena's constantly shifting love interests only slightly got on my nerves, I totally couldn't make up my mind which one of the many (beyond) swoon-worthy characters I liked better (in case you were wondering I totally shipped her with Chaol for the first 3.75 books, and then it switched to a certain ridiculously cliché yet beyond perfect Fae prince who I am totally NOT in love with). ANYWAY, I loved how even though in the first book Celaena is spoiled and sometimes too chivalrous, she grows to be a fierce and independent warrior-queen. I can't make up my mind about whether I liked how Celaena knew she had changed or how obvious it was (those who have read it know what I'm talking about ;)). Adding on to that, though, I loved how every relationship she had with a guy wasn't IMMEDIATELY romantic. Yes, most times it ended up getting there (which was sometimes frustrating and eye-roll worthy), but at least it wasn't unrealistic immediate love at first sight.

The plot (or should I say plots?). There were so so many, and I adored how they were all flawlessly balanced and then meticulously entangled in the final part of Queen of Shadows. The plots were overall well-developed and some twists were predictable, but overall they were absolutely amazing and filled to the brim with heart-pounding action. What I will say is that the climax in Queen of Shadows was *shudders*... Beyond words. I was a mess and was just all over the place with tears and screams and smiles and laughs and God only knows what else.

The writing was utter perfection, as can only be expected from an entirely fictional fantasy masterpiece, of course.

Overall, what can I say? I don't even feel my review does this series justice. Completely mind shattering plot teeming with characters that are usually separated into different series and different fictional worlds? I don't see what else could be requested of Sarah J. Maas other than more excitement in the first book. It would've been so easy to just stop after book 1 and not care too much about what happened to the characters, but since I was determined and in love with Chaol, I needed more... Trust me on this one. Even if you're not in the mood, READ CROWN OF MIDNIGHT. That's an order. You'll thank me later. (I’m currently staring at a certain bookstagrammer I’ve been nagging to read Crown of Midnight since we buddy read Throne of Glass MONTHS ago… I’m never going to stop I swear)

Well, now I'm just sitting here being tortured by the months-long wait I'm currently facing before Empire of Storms. Ugh.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy reading!

Xoxo,

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page