top of page

Blog

Review for The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider!


Quick View Review

Overall Rating: **** (4.8/5)

Amazon Rating: **** (4.3/5)

One Sentence Review: This novel is a short, bittersweet story about love, life, high school, happiness, and the uncertainties of the future, with quirky characters that will keep you laughing the whole way through.

Full Review

Varsity tennis captain, Ezra Faulkner, was supposed to be homecoming king, but that was before—before his girlfriend cheated on him, before a car accident shattered his leg, and before he fell in love with unpredictable new girl Cassidy Thorpe. (Summary from Amazon).

I read the summary on the back of the book, one afternoon in my second home, Barnes & Noble, and immediately knew it was the book for me. It was exactly the type of love story where you curl in your bed with a cup of hot chocolate (or coffee, which I prefer). There’s subtle references throughout the novel of Harry Potter (*screams*) and Doctor Who (*sustains screech*), and others that perhaps I missed, (which, in my opinion, are very much needed in every book). I laughed and cried right along with the characters; it is truly written brilliantly. Each character was very unique and interesting, especially Cassidy, who was a mystery that I tried to solve along with Ezra. The minor characters all captured my attention, which is hard considering the main ones are already so captivating. I loved how Ezra isn’t the typical type of person authors usually use as their protagonist (which is a golden boy, pretty much). My only criticism is the ending. I can’t decide whether the ending was justified (meaning I’m just too sad to see the book end), or if it was unneeded and I am disappointed. Honestly, it was a bit like my expectations were just a tad higher than what was offered. I would have also appreciated more information on Pheobe or other characters and what happened to them. Having said all that, the message conveyed should be heard by all teenagers. It was a short, touching novel that shouldn’t be ignored and should definitely be put on your TBR list.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy reading!

Xoxo,

Zoe

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page