top of page

Blog

Review for The Fray Theory: Resonance by Nelou Keramati!


Quick View Review

Overall Rating: **** (4.3/5)

Goodreads Rating: **** (4.62/5)

One Sentence Review: If you’re looking for a mystery/thriller/romance novel, and are interested in theories behind deja vu, alternate universe, and the limits (or lack of limits) of the mind, then this is the book for you!

Full Review

Neve Knightly lives in an ordinary world. Where déjà vu is nothing more than a mind-trick. Where premonitions are dismissed as mere coincidence. Where no one thinks twice about the glitches in their reality.

Neve Knightly is living a lie.

But when her nightmare of a tragedy comes true the very next day, she can no longer seek solace in self-deception. The glossy enamel has been shattered, and she has caught a glimpse of what slithers just beneath the surface. She now has the opportunity to decipher the enigma that’s been haunting her since childhood. But her quest soon becomes deeply entangled with the last two people she could have ever imagined: the love of her life, Dylan, who mysteriously vanished three years ago, and his estranged best friend, Romer, who seems to be guarding a secret of his own.

Romance, rancor, and redemption plummet as priorities, as their lives become riddled with peculiar happenings lying just outside the realm of science. And in search for salvation, they emerge at the brink of unveiling the best-kept secret in human history. (Summary from Goodreads).

I really, really, really like this book. But, am I absolutely in love with it? Not exactly. It’s the first book in the series, and maybe that’s why I’m a little biased because I am so tired of long series. It’s like an emotional rollercoaster that you immediately get hooked on and can’t seem to get off, no matter the pain.

I regret that I read The Fray Theory while I was in the middle of reading my summer reading novel (Great Expectations, ew), so I feel like I wasn’t as concentrated on Resonance as I could’ve been. Having said all that, I was really surprised at how intrigued I was at certain topics that were introduced throughout the novel, such as theories on deja vu, dreams, alternate universes, and breaking the laws of physics. I have always been interested in these topics, so reading them in a book was like a dream come true. The characters are all very interesting and complex, and in some ways I could relate to them, but I felt that there was something missing in the emotional factor in some situations with the characters, where I didn’t quite feel a connection.

Besides all that, the writing is flawless and descriptive, and the plot was dense and mysterious; I was hanging onto every word trying to solve the mystery at the same time as Neve, the protagonist, was. At the end, I was very frustrated when I realized that I would have to wait for the next book to come out.

Overall, I really liked this book and urge you to read it!

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy reading!

Xoxo,

Zoe

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page