top of page

Blog

Review for PS I Like You by Kasie West!


Quick View Review

Overall Rating: **** (4/5)

Amazon Rating: **** (4.7/5)

One Sentence Review: Probably the most adorable book on the entire planet, this book totally stole my heart despite minor flaws in the character and plot department (only in the first half though!)

Full Review:

Signed, sealed, delivered...

While spacing out in Chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk, and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters -- sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she's kind of falling for this letter writer. Only who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery, and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can't always be spelled out...

(Summary from Amazon)

This book is THE perfect example of lovable predictability. Yes, you feel like the main character is dumb for not figuring out the mysterious letter writer; yes, the book is so completely cliché; but that doesn’t stop you from feeling giddy and happy, and oh, you just can’t seem to wipe that smile off your face, now can you? So although the character development was somewhat lacking and the first half of the book kind of lulled, I was so, so in love with this novel.

So in general, I really did like the cast of characters. The friendships and various relationships were aMAZING, and West definitely made the overall situation seem completely realistic and normal. I LOVED Lily (anyone reminded of Lola from Stephanie Perkins’s book? Anyone?)... I just thought her personality was hilarious, and I felt I could relate to her in a lot of different ways. And then there’s *insert mystery letter writer’s name here*. He was the highlight for me, because he wasn’t your typical perfect male character who’s gorgeous and caring and honest and everything. No, this one was flawed, and that made me fall for him even more. Where the characters were lacking was in development. Yes, there was some of it, but I was really missing Lily’s change throughout the book; I recognized her flaws early on (I still loved her, don’t get me wrong), and was hoping that something in the book would make her see them too, but I felt like she was identical on the last page and on the first.

As for the plot, the second half of the book was where it really got real. Once you get to the halfway point, this book is like a drug: you physically WILL NOT be able to stop reading until you reach the end, at which you will breathe a deep sigh and close it with satisfaction. If only the first half of the book had been as fast-paced and “action”-packed (because, you know, it’s not ACTUALLY action like in fantasy books), this story would have been even better.

The writing, I thought, was perfect for the book. It didn’t wow me, but it was simple and realistic and was thoroughly representative of a normal teen’s mind (or so I thought…)

Overall, I recommend this book if you’re looking for something super light, super quick, and super cute. If you’re a fan of Stephanie Perkins, then I would especially recommend this book for you.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Xoxo,

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page