top of page

Blog

Review for Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff!


Quick View Review

Overall Rating: **** (4.7/5)

Amazon Rating: **** (4.7/5)

One Sentence Review: After reading this, hacking and exploring the universe will become your new dream--and these characters will make you laugh, cry, and will simply warm your heart.

Full Review

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy's most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion. When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station's wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands. But relax. They've totally got this. They hope. (Summary by Amazon).

Illuminae blew me away, so I was worried Gemina wouldn’t be able to reach the same very high expectations that Illuminae set. Gemina not only reached the same expectations, but now the Illuminae Files is one of my favorite book series. I’m obsessed with hackers and codes, so obviously this was a dream coming true for me. After Illuminae and Gemina (and any technology-futuristic page turner) I become convinced that I want to be a professional hacker some day. Back to the novel… so I loved the way the author presented the story through texts and emails and documents and drawings. Every page was so exciting and creative and artistic, just the pages alone make it amazing. Add in intriguing, hilarious, and well developed characters in the mix, and I was a goner. They were different characters than those that I usually like (the bad boy and rich beauty queen aren’t usually what I go for), but I felt so connected nonetheless. The twists and turns, I saw none of them coming, and there was always something that I was biting my nails over (NOT--that i was ever actually doing that, just so you know). Even the evil characters I found myself enjoying. Everything about this book is amazing, and even though the conflict was (mostly) solved, there was still a cliff that I really wanted to jump off to find out what happens next. If you are wondering whether or not to read this series--READ IT. I was hesitant at first, like you might be right now, but I promise you it is worth it. The series is one of my favorites--you won’t regret it.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Happy reading!

Xoxo,

Zoe

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page