top of page

Blog

Review for The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon!


Quick View Review:

Overall Rating: ***** (5/5)

Amazon Rating: (not yet available)

One-Sentence Review: A third installment that absolutely blew me away, I couldn’t have asked for a more thrilling continuation of the amazing series that is The Bone Season: ridiculously amazing characters and a non-stop plot that had my heart constantly racing made this book the best I’ve read so far this year.

Full Review:

Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London's criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilizing the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it . . .

(Summary from Amazon)

*I was provided an ARC by the publisher, however this DOES NOT affect my opinion of the book*

So I know my review for the first two books in this series aren’t up yet, BUT considering this book was released yesterday and I just loved it so much, it needed to take precedence ;).

So I ADORED the first two Bone Season novels. The characters, the plot… all of it absolutely blew me away more and more as the story progressed.

But this book… This book took it to a WHOLE. NEW. LEVEL.

The action was completely non-stop: my heart was racing on every single page and I could NEVER predict what would happen next. I fell even harder for all of the characters, and through the whole thing was utterly terrified for each one of them (proving my emotional investment into what happened to them).

And the VILLAINS. If you know me you know I’m a sucker for evil characters (they’re usually my favorites), and this series has a whole cast of badass and fear-inducing people/Rephaite I couldn’t help but appreciate (Jaxon included, despite my ever-shifting love-hate relationship with him).

As for our heroes, they only added to the brilliance of Shannon’s novel: every member of Paige’s inner circle was complex and essential to the story in their own way, which was unfortunate for my heart because it meant that I fell in love with THEM ALL.

Let me discuss my favorites for a second though, the shining stars that made this third installment the best book I’ve read this year: Paige, Nick, and, of course, Warden. Paige was incredibly brave, but also showed enough fear and doubt to make her realistic. She was willing to sacrifice so much, but not to the point where she stopped caring about herself. So basically, she was the PERFECT main character: admirable without being too flawless, and heroic while also remaining human. She’s one of my favorite heroines EVER, and I’m so excited to see where the rest of these books take her.

Aaaaaaand now Warden and Nick. They stole my heart and were, in my opinion, the best characters in this series. They’re both just those type of character that you love so much it’s like they’re real people (I swear it’s not weird), and their characters feel as if they go so far beyond what would be possible in a fictional setting.

And yeah, you heard that right. There were TWO of them in this series, where most don’t have any or MAYBE one.

Overall, I mean what can I say? The Song Rising is the third installment every Bone Season fan dreamed about, filled with a wonderfully action-filled plot and characters that you only become more attached to. I know I didn’t have to wait even a quarter as long as some readers did, but in my opinion, every minute would have been worth it. If you haven’t yet read The Bone Season or The Mime Order, then now’s the perfect time to pick it up since TSR just released!

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Xoxo,

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page