top of page

Blog

Review for Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake!


Quick View Review:

Overall Rating: **** (4/5)

Goodreads Rating: **** (3.86/5)

One Sentence Review: Although slow at certain points, this book definitely captured my attention and pleasantly surprised me with the easy to understand yet creative fantasy world, the lovable characters, and Blake’s captivating writing style.

Amazon Summary:

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose...it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

Full Review:

This was a book that I unexpectedly fell in love with. I went in with absolutely no expectations; unsure because I had never heard of, nevermind read, anything by this particular author.

Turns out, I was pleasantly surprised. I fell in love with a lot of the characters; the plot, despite being slow at some points, was extremely well-crafted, and the writing was really just fantastic.

My favorite thing about the book was probably the world in which it was set. I loved how simple yet incredibly creative the society in Three Dark Crowns was, and I almost equally loved all the characters.

I have to say my favorite was Arsinoe; for some reason, I just had a soft spot for her innocent and playful attitude. That doesn’t mean I didn’t love Katharine or Mirabella; I cared for each of the sisters, and am just praying that the second book doesn’t bring the destruction I’m thinking may come.

Like I said earlier, there were definitely points where the plot was slow. Despite these lulls, however, I personally thought the story was pretty exciting and action-packed, and I just couldn’t let go of the book once I picked it up.

Overall, although I was slightly disappointed to see this book was one to be added to the endless list of series, I really loved the novel and will definitely be picking up the second book.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Xoxo,

Jordan

Instagram: @pagetravels (www.instagram.com/pagetravels/)

Youtube: www.youtube.com/c/TheYATimes

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page