top of page

Blog

Review for A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor!


Quick View Review

Overall Rating: *** (2.8/5)

Goodreads Rating: **** (3.97/5)

One Sentence Review: An engaging plot with 1-dimensional and extremely stereotypical characters, this book is a quick read perfect for a day at the beach, but definitely isn’t one of my top contemporary recommendations.

Full Review:

Emma had always orbited Henri, her fierce, magnetic queen bee of an older sister, and the two had always been best friends. Until something happened that wrecked them.

I'd trusted Henri more than I'd trusted myself. Wherever she told me to go, I'd follow.

Then the unthinkable occurs—a watery nightmare off the dazzling coast. The girls wash up on shore, stranded. Their only companion is Alex, a troubled boy agonizing over his own secrets. Trapped in this gorgeous hell, Emma and Alex fall together as Emma and Henri fall catastrophically apart.

For the first time, I was afraid we'd die on this shore. (Summary from Goodreads)

To find their way home, the sisters must find their way back to each other. But there’s no map for this—or anything. Can they survive the unearthing of the past and the upheaval of the present?

This book was pretty disappointing for me. I was expecting a fun and light contemporary perfect to finish off the summer, and while the plot was definitely interesting and had me racing to the end, the characters felt totally flat.

The sisters themselves were such stereotypes and, in my opinion, didn’t have anything distinguishably unique about them. Other than getting over their petty sister issues, they didn’t experience extensive development throughout the plot and remained rather one-dimensional the entire book. I was so hoping we’d get an epic sister story in this book, but instead I felt like Emma and Henri’s relationship and issues weren’t anything special.

The plot itself was definitely interesting: I was racing through the whole book wondering what on earth made Henri hate Emma so much and how Emma, Henri, and Alex would eventually make it off the island. The plot was never boring and constantly kept me engaged, and the story as a whole was super fast-paced.

Overall, although this book definitely had issues with the characters, it was a quick read that is perfect if you’re looking for a beach-y read to finish off your summer.

Make sure to come back next Wednesday for a new review!

Xoxo

Jordan

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page